23rd IIPLA 2024 Dubai

Stephen J. Strauss

Stephen J. Strauss

Shareholder | Buchalter, USA

Stephen J. Strauss is a Shareholder and Co-Chair of the Firm’s Entertainment Industry Group. For over 35 years, Mr. Strauss has specialized in domestic and international trademark, copyright, and unfair competition matters, including licensing, Internet domain name disputes, and litigation. He has prosecuted over two thousand U.S. and foreign trademark and service mark applications, and won over 70 UDRP decisions.  Mr. Strauss also provides various legal production services for documentary and narrative films and scripted and unscripted television projects (including development, rights acquisition, rights and title clearances, and IP protection and enforcement).

Mr. Strauss represents a number of internationally recognized celebrities, recording and visual artists, authors, comic book creators, social media influencers and media and entertainment companies. He also represents a wide range of diverse clients including restaurants, banks and financial institutions, jewelry manufacturers, clothing and toy manufacturers.

Mr. Strauss is a member of the Television Academy, the Recording Academy (NARAS), the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA), the Visual Effects Society (a non-profit professional, honorary society representing visual effects practitioners in all areas of entertainment) and the Chartered Institute of Trade Mark Attorneys. He is also an Adjunct Associate Professor and member of the Alumni Association Board of Directors and Executive Board of the Biederman Entertainment & Media Law Institute at Southwestern Law School. Mr. Strauss lectures widely in the areas of entertainment intellectual property law and celebrity branding. He has lectured before the American Bar Association, the International Trademark Association, the International Intellectual Property Law Association, the USC Gould Institute of Entertainment Law and Business, the Beverly Hills Bar Association, the Association of Corporate Counsel, WME, SAG-AFTRA, and the National Association of Schools of Theatre (NAST).